Toccata BSIN04559974

Korzhev, Mikhail / Woods, Kenneth / English SO - Sämtliche Klavierkonzerte Vol. 1

Composer: Ernst Krenek

Ernst KRENEK: Complete Piano Concertos, Volume One The piano concertos of Ernst Krenek (1900–91) are major contributions to the twentieth-century repertoire, comparable to those of Bartók, Prokofiev, Schoenberg and Shostakovich, but astonishingly two of them have never had commercial recordings – an omission this series seeks to redress. Piano Concertos Nos. 1–3, written between 1923 and 1946, show Krenek throwing off the constraints of tonality in favour of a freewheeling, individual use of twelve-tone technique, brimming with colour and often animated with a keen sense of wit.
Mikhail Korzhev (piano)
English Symphony Orchestra, Kenneth Woods
1. Piano Concerto No. 1 in F sharp major, Op. 18 (1923)
2. Piano Concerto No. 2, Op. 81 (1937)
3. Piano Concerto No. 3, Op. 107 (1946)
Released 2016.
Price: 17,50 EUR