Pannon Jazz BSIN04250565

Bürger, Miklós - That's All

Miklós Bürger (Korg piano-1-13), József Páradi (double bass-1,3,5-10, Korg piano-13), Csongor Földesi (drums-1,3,5-10, percussion-5,8) & Béla Szalóky (flugelhorn-2,12), Géza Borissza (flute-4), Attila Földesi (percussions-5,8), József Róbert Fritz (clarinet-12).
Recorded at the HSB Studio, Dunakeszi, Hungary, 13 to 15 November 1995.
1. Take The "A" Train
2. Just Friends
3. Sweet Georgia Brown
4. Spring Can You Really Hang You Up The Most
5. The Night Has A Thousand Eyes -1
6. Ballad Medley
a. I Remember Clifford
b. Cry Me A River
c. Misty
d. Once In A While
7. Teach Me Tonight
8. Just The Way You Are -1
9. That's All
10. Vágyom egy no után (Yours Is My Heart Alone) (Ferenc LEHÁR)
11. The Girl In The Window solo-p
12. I Got Rhythm
13. Mr. Bürger. Dedicated to Miklós Bürger
Released 1995.

Anyone familiarwith the monolithic structure of the record industry in Hungary for long decades, should not be surprised by the fact, the current one is the first recording of the exquisite planist Miklós Bürger (b. August 26, 1937 in Budapest).
Bürger could well deserve the most humble jazz pianist, had he ever desired any title. He is at home in the swing Idiom. His earlier idols include Teddy Wilson, Erroll Garner and Oscar Peterson. Today he cites Gene Harris as his main influence, but other pianists, such as Monty Alexander and Tommy Flanagan also mean a lot for him.
He is an ideal accompanyist. and never aimed at public success as a solo player. He has a true ensemble player in the group Vox '68 and later in the successor band called .Jákó Jazz Combo. His associates from that time, Csongor Földesi (drums, b. October 4, 1941, Budapest) and Géza Borissza (flute, b. December 9, 1940, Budapest) are to be heard on the current recording, too.
In the early eighties Bürger achieved quite a popularity, playing in the Jazz Forum Club of the law faculty in Budapest (ELTE AJTK) , and in the Jazzpresszó of the Budapest Cultural Centre (BMK). This is easily proved from amateur recordings made then, and from poll positions he won in the last Top Jazz Hungary voting he has second in his category in 1984. In the same poll the Jákó Jazz Combo was voted into second, Mr. Borissza into first, and Mr. Földesi into third positions in their respective categories
Miklós Bürger has a key role in the research of Hungarian jazz. Without him a number of significant studies would not have come into being. He also provides a chance to play for his young colleagues. Flugelhorn player Béla Szalóky (b. April 24, 1972, Székesfehérvár) and double bass player József Parádi (b. October 24, 1975, Budapest) are the best known among the four youngsters, they have been sidemans on recordings before. Clarinetist József Róbert Fritz (b. January 22, 1978, Budapest) is a promising talent. The Benjamin of the recording is Attila Földesi, the son of Csongor (b. November 12, 1986, Budapest), who plays percussion instruments.
The current CD is a reminder of how much talent there is to be explored, and, as a consequence, recorded. We can only hope that the first CD of Miklós Bürger will be followed by many, opening aseries of records which introduces those not-so-young players, who do not appear on the scene that often, nevertheless appeal to the fans who prefer listening to first class jazz on their stereo at home.
Géza Gábor Simon
Price: 13,90 EUR