Naxos BSIN04222034

Judd, James / New Zealand SO - Die Seejungfrau (The Mermaid) / Sinfonietta

Composer: Alexander Zemlinsky

Alexander von Zemlinsky (1871-1942): Die Seejungfrau (The Mermaid) Symphonic Fantasy / Sinfonietta, Op. 23
New Zealand Symphony Orchestra, James Judd
1. Sinfonietta, Op. 23: I. Sehr lebhaft
2. Sinfonietta, Op. 23: II. Ballade: Sehr gemessen [poco adagio], doch nicht schleppend
3. Sinfonietta, Op. 23: III. Sehr lebhaft
4. Die Seejungfrau (The Mermaid): I. Sehr massig bewegt
5. Die Seejungfrau (The Mermaid): II. Sehr bewegt, rauschend
6. Die Seejungfrau (The Mermaid): III. Sehr gedehnt, mit schmerzvollem Ausdruck

A Symphony in all but name, Zemlinsky's lavishly scored 'symphonic fantasy' Die Seejungfrau (1903) is his most frequently performed large-scale work beside the Lyric Symphony (Naxos 8.572048). Based on Hans Christian Andersen's fairy tale of the mermaid who sacrifices herself out of unrequited love for a prince, the work places greater emphasis on thematic development than on mere illustration. Written over three decades later, when Zemlinsky's music was taking on a more astringent manner, the Sinfonietta is remarkable for its nervous energy, anguished passion and sheer virtuosity.
Released 2009.
Price: 13,90 EUR